South of Broad by Pat Conroy

Rate your Date: 1/5 Stars.

At first glance my date looked good. I’d read “Prince of Tides” years ago and liked it. But “South of Broad” was disappointing. In fact, I skimmed through the last 2/3 because I found the plotting trite, the characters clichéd, and the big “reveal” totally uninspiring. I have no patience with writing that tells me “things changed.” I want the story to unfold in a way that lets me live changes with the characters. This did NOT happen in “South of Broad.” One drink was all I could muster here. I left before dinner on this date (However, I liked the whole idea of the Blind Date with a Book!!).

Would you recommend this book to a friend? No.

Leave a Reply

