Mix Messages – Goodbye Portsmouth Summer / Prescott Park Mix

Floyd listening to sounds of summer

Goodbye Summer! Remember when it was February and I was sobbing into my thick, itchy sweater, listening to versions of “In the Bleak Mid-winter” thinking you’d never come back? And you were like, “I’ll be back before you know it.” Remember that?

And after what seemed like an eternity we were picnicking on Four Tree Island together, taking walks in the woods, enjoying drinks on the deck. Remember? Because I don’t think I did anything but appreciate you and make you feel like the amazing season you are.

OK, maybe there was the one week when you were acting all cool and foggy, and I might have said you were acting kind of Spring-like. And that other time when I might have complained that your color this year was “construction orange.” It was a joke, Summer! You clearly have a sense of humor because of that year you bucketed rain every Wednesday, affecting the Prescott Park concerts. No, I didn’t mean to bring that up. We’ve worked through that, right?

For the most part, I’ve done nothing but show you love. I even mourned when I was stuck inside, wanting to spend as much time with you as possible. So I don’t understand why you left. You were gone in a flash. Don’t you know how much New Englanders need you? I need you? How much your sun gives us a reason to live here? Your gorgeous days give us Seasonal Amnesia, and we forget what a frosty jerk Winter can be.

Why couldn’t we hang out a little longer? You could have worked out a deal with Autumn and stayed a few extra weeks? Autumn is super cool, I’m sure she wouldn’t mind. I know. I know. Autumn isn’t as awesome as you are. Besides the crisp days, cool nights, Halloween, and orange means pumpkins not construction zones. Still not funny, Summer? I won’t mention it again.

In an old school way of showing affection, I made you a mix, Summer. I wanted you to remember the good times, how great the Prescott Park Arts Festival Lineup was, how you helped to make it so memorable. You are loved, Summer. We need you.

Here’s the Goodbye Portsmouth Summer – Prescott Park Mix.

Click on the song to see a video (I linked to the official video when possible.) Click on the artist for the library’s copy of the CD. Search our catalog by “Prescott Park Arts Festival.” I didn’t include all of the fantastic performers on the Mix, but I hope you give their CDs a listen.

You can listen to the mix on Spotify. The library doesn’t endorse Spotify, but if you want to sign up, there is a free level of membership. Sounds of Portsmouth Summer Playlist on Spotify

When we swam / Thao and the Get Down Stay Down

Bright as you can (Folk Alley Sessions)  /Mike + Ruthy Band

Come back home (recorded at KTHX Radio) / Trampled by Turtles

Stranger / Devil Makes Three

Born with a Broken Heart /David Wax Museum 
They are also performing at 3S Artspace Thursday October 15th.

Open Doors (Rhapsody Originals) / Josh Ritter

Evangelina (a lyric video)/ Whitehorse

We the Common / Thao and the Get Down Stay Down

Can’t Go Back / Della Mae

Blue Ridge Mountain (live on KEXP)/ Hurray for the Riffraff

The City of Our Lady / Milk Carton Kids

This Tornado loves you  (Neko Case on the Letterman Show) / Neko Case

Are you Behind the Shining Star? / Trampled by Turtles

Until You were Gone  (Folk Radio UK Under the Apple Tree Session) / John Fullbright

Beyond the Blue (Music City Roots Recording) / Duhks

There were incredible concerts at other venues. I’m really excited about the upcoming shows at The Music Hall, 3S Artspace, and The Dance Hall in Kittery. Oh, you heard that, Summer? I didn’t mean it. Your concerts at all of these places were the best. Seriously. Come back.


Heather
Mix Messages is written by library assistant Heather Armitage. She enjoys reading fiction and humorous essays, traveling, trying new vegetarian recipes, and dancing in the kitchen. She’s grateful her dog, Floyd, doesn’t judge her moves. If you have suggestions for future Mix Messages, please email her at hearmitage@cityofportsmouth.com.

Leave a Reply

